Wagons-Lits Diffusion, (c) et TM. All rights reserved

3.  PLM / Paris-Lyon-Méditerranée

logo-plm-petit.jpg   PLM-CotedAzur-Soleil.jpg    plm-chamonixsauteurs.jpg 

History of PLM / Paris Lyon Méditerranée company:

Since 1857, PLM company had the exclusive concession of rail transport in the region between Paris, the Alps and the Mediterranean coast, later called Côte d'Azur. The Rothschild family was the main driver behing the development of PLM into the most important French railway operator.

Thanks to modern poster publicity for train travels and hotels in touristic destinations, PLM actively participated in the development of tourism in the French Alps and Côte dAzur. First with wealthy English aristocrats, then with French tourists after 1900.

After the nationalisation of all railway companies in 1937 and the creation of SNCF, PLM company continued its activities focusing in tourism and hotels development. PLM was later absorbed by CIWL and the Accor hospitality group who took over PLM hotels.

Read: HISTOIRE DU PLM

***

In order to advertize these touristic destinations, PLM ordered from the 1850 till 1930's more than 800 advertizing posters to famous artists, thus creating a strong imaginary representation of French vacation resorts 'à la belle époque'.

The PLM Collection of touristic posters is now reknown worldwide as one of the richest for its diversity and artistic quality, representing touristic villages from the French Alps to the Côte d'Azur. 

PLM (Paris Lyon Méditerranée) is particularly well suited for licenses of touristic products, sold in these regions such as Chamonix or Monaco. Most villages and cities from the Alps to the Côte d'Azur are represented in the PLM Collection (Monaco, Nice, Antibes, Chamonix, Megève...)

All PLM Posters:  (c) and TM: all rights reserved Wagons-Lits Diffusion, Paris or Wagons-Lits Diffusion / Adagp, Paris

PLM REGISTERED BRANDS & PROPRIETARY DATABASE OF PLM ADVERTIZING POSTERS:

Visual Supports of PLM concept: PLM logo and brand registered worldwide; more than 800 posters available (some of them known worldwide); Copyrights managed jointly with ADAGP (Association representing most French Graphic Artists)

Over the last years, Wagons-Lits Diffusion has searched PLM and Wagons-Lits vast archives in order to make a precise inventory of all existing PLM posters. This complete inventory is now available for viewing and licensing in PLM ADVERTIZING POSTERS DATABASE (publicly accessible on this website: per city/touristic destination (recherche par ville) or directly on the Map of France (recherche sur la Carte de France ).

 This huge task of inventory and digitalization allows us to provide more than 400 HiQuality images of PLM posters. Every year, we manage to complete this inventory with new HiDef images. our objective is to be able to propose the entire PLM Collection for Publishers and other licensees. See 7. CONDITIONS OF USE : Licenses, Copyright, Co-branding, Partnerships

 

Links: 

 affiches                                                                         PLM-CotedAzur-Soleil.jpg    plm-chamonixsauteurs.jpg

 histoire de la Cie PLM                                                   

  

(doc pdf)

retour haut de page

Wagons-Lits Diffusion, (c) et TM tous droits réservés

3.  PLM / Paris-Lyon-Méditerranée

logo-plm-petit.jpg   PLM-CotedAzur-Soleil.jpg    plm-chamonixsauteurs.jpg 

La Compagnie du PLM / Paris Lyon Méditerranée:

Depuis 1857, la Cie du PLM desservait depuis Paris les régions des Alpes et de la Côte d’Azur, avec ses trains et ses hotels. La famille Rotschild fut à l'origine du développement du plus important réseau français, avec les chemins de fer Paris-Orléans, Compagnie du Nord et Chemins de fer de l'Est.

C'est grâce à ses campagnes publicitaires vantant ses trains, ses hotels et ses services d'autocar que s'est développé le tourisme sur la Côte d'Azur. Tout d'abord avec une clientèle de riches anglais, puis les touristes français à partir des années 1900.

A partir de 1937, suite à la nationalisation de tous les réseaux et la création de la SNCF, la société PLM s’est recentrée sur le développement de son réseau d’hotels PLM. Depuis le rachat de la Cie des Wagons-Lits et la fusion/absorption de PLM par le groupe Accor, PLM fait partie du 1er groupe hotelier européen.

Lire: HISTOIRE DU PLM

***

Pour faire connaître ces destinations, le PLM avait depuis 1850 commandé plus de 800 affiches à de nombreux artistes, façonnant ainsi autour du PLM un imaginaire collectif d’ images de villégiature en France à la belle époque.

La Collection des affiches du PLM est reconnue mondialement comme l’une des plus riches pour les affiches touristiques, représentant l’ensemble des lieux touristiques français des Alpes à la Côte d’Azur.

PLM est une marque particulièrement adaptée pour des collections de produits touristiques ou culturels régionaux. La plupart des sites et des communes du Sud Est sont représentées (Monaco, Nice, Antibes, Chamonix, Megève...).

Venue aux droits de PLM SA (aujourd'hui ACCOR SA), Wagons-Lits diffusion gère les droits de PLM sur ses archives historiques et la base de données des affiches  (c) and TM: Wagons-Lits Diffusion, Paris ou Wagons-Lits Diffusion / Adagp, Paris

MARQUE DEPOSEE: PLM - Paris Lyon Méditerrannée

Supports: Logo et marque déposés dans le monde entier, plus de 800 affiches (dont certaines connues mondialement), droits PLM et droits d’auteurs gérés en commun avec l’Adagp (représentant les auteurs graphiques en France), nombreuses publications et documentaires, 20 licences en cours

Depuis des années, Wagons-Lits Diffusion inventorie méthodiquement toutes les affiches du PLM, à partir des archives CIWL/PLM. Ce travail énorme d'inventaire et de numérisation permet de mettre à disposition des éditeurs plus de 400 affiches numérisées en Haute Definition, sur les 800 répertoriées à ce jour. voir conditions d'utilisation des affiches PLM

LIENS: 

 affiches                                                                         PLM-CotedAzur-Soleil.jpg    plm-chamonixsauteurs.jpg

 histoire de la Cie PLM                                                      

 mémoire historique sur les affiches PLM (des Alpes):      (doc pdf)  

retour haut de page